breastfeeding · competitions

National breastfeeding week: pumping

logo 2013

Today’s topic on the scavenger hunt is pumping. It’s not something I’ve ever been entirely successful at to be honest.

But the key is relaxation, easier said than done when you’re watching each drop drip down, stressing about having enough milk for your baby when you aren’t there. You need to relax to get your let down going.

20130627-093937.jpgHaving a good breast pump certainly helps. I had an old Medela mini which was good but it wasn’t until I bought a Medela swing that my pumping was revolutionised. The let down stimulation is really effective, you can control it and unlike the mini it stimulates let down before pumping so you have a chance to shut your eyes, look at pictures if your baby, or whatever it takes to relax to get a let down. It gets more powerful and builds up then relaxes down just like feeding your baby. I spose the important thing is it doesn’t really matter if you get much milk, don’t stress over it, it makes it worse. If you have to leave your baby don’t feel guilty if you have to leave them with formula, it’s not a big deal. It really really isn’t. What’s more important is you being happy (cliche but means your baby will be happy).

This post ispart of the Keep Britain Breastfeeding Scavenger hunt which is taking part during national breastfeeding week.

 

Enter today’s competition to be in with a chance to win £1000 of feeding related prizes here:

Scavenger hunt competition

Visit other bloggers on the hunt here:
Faded seaside mamma
Lactivist
Hinckley yummy mummy
Lonely scribe
Little scribbles

There are lots of companies supporting the hunt including:

Snoob

 

18 thoughts on “National breastfeeding week: pumping

  1. I breastfed my other 2 til 16 months. Baby A however is 17 months already and showing no signs of giving up. I guess we will carry on til one or other of us gets fed up but at the moment I can’t see that happening for a good while!!

  2. i used that swing pump in hospital when i had my first daughter to help my milk come in until she could latch properly! it was ace! just really bloomin expensive!!

    1. Yep v expensive!! When I went back to work my mini broke and I had to buy a pump at the last min…it was the only one in the shop and I panic bought it. Best panic but I’ve ever experienced!

  3. I guess I’ll feed until we’re ready to stop, sounds obvious but there you go. My first self weaned fully at 16 months and I was ready for that as I was 6 weeks pregnant with sensitive boobs.

    1. I think that’s very sensible, had a very similar experience with my first son, fed til 16 months when he self weaned (and I was pregnant with my second son). Your milk can change when you are pregnant and taste different sometimes hurrying along the weaning process. We were both ready though.

  4. I breastfed my daughter until she was 19 months, at that point we were down to one feed a day which just sort of dwindled….. my son is now 18 months and feeds sometimes 3 or 4 times a day and through the night, I’m not sure how long I’ll feed him for, until he’s ready to he is ready to stop I suppose. I never really started with a goal in mind just take it one day at a time.

  5. I don’t really have a plan, i really don’t ever want to give up! i’m addicted been 3 months so far and i am loving every single bit!

  6. Till as long as my son wants to feed from me- just like I did with my daughter. She stopped at 14 months but it may have been because I was pregnant too!

  7. It really is a big deal if you look at the evidence for the risks of formula. Your posts seem to be full of booby traps. If they’re bothered enough about giving their baby breastmilk in the first place to be pumping (although I would only ever do it for medical reasons, not convenience) then maybe they would like to know about alternatives recommended above formula by the WHO, if they can’t pump enough themselves or feed directly. Such as donor milk and wet nursing. Both of which can be found on the Human Milk 4 Human Babies Facebook group.

  8. I hated pumping, but had to do it for top ups and to try to increase my supply, as I have IGT.
    However, we’re still breastfeeding at 22 months, with no plans to stop any time soon, even though I’m pregnant again, so the pumping was certainly helpful.

Leave a Reply

