breastfeeding · competitions

National breastfeeding week: feeding in public

KBB13_Prizes_500pxFeeding in public is one of the biggest hurdles to get over if you are going to breastfeed. It’s not easy to gain the confidence to feed in public.

What if your boob gets viewed by someone you really don’t want to see it (father in law, ex boyfriend’s new girlfriend, anyone really…)

What if you squirt milk at someone in a coffee shop…(it happens to us all)

It’s hard enough to feed let alone with people watching you and judging. But what you have to realise is that you aren’t important to most people, you are invisible. Most people do not even realise you are feeding because quite simply they aren’t interested. Now obviously some people do notice, some people are interested. One of my friends stopped feeding because she didn’t feel comfortable in public. Now she’s having her second baby and I hope by finding the right cover she can continue to feed if she wants to. The trick is finding the cover right for you. There are loads out there. Muslins, feeding vests, scarves…

With the pob I was a fan of the two layered top approach, lift one up, pull one down. Most people don’t even realise you are feeding. But it ruined a lot of my clothes and it limited what I could wear. Now Breastvest offer a good solution to this. You can win a breastvest on this post. The other feeding in public cover I use is the feeding apron. I use Bebe Chic.

I wish I’d had an apron with the pob but only bought one with Sammy.

A couple of weeks ago I went shopping just me and Sam (and my trusty apron). I was in John Lewis having lunch and Sammy wanted feeding. There was a feeding room just around the corner but my coffee hadn’t been drunk. I thought, shall I, shan’t I… and I thought sod it. I’m not moving, I want to drink my coffee hot for once. So I stayed. I got out my apron and started feeding Sammy. No one batted an eyelid. Apart from a man who was about 70. He just kept staring. I thought he was going to come over and complain. So many older women were walking past smiling and cooing. Then I finished feeding and out popped Sam. The older gent looked at him, looked at me and then gave me the hugest smile. Turns out he was cooing too.

So someone who I thought was disgusted was the opposite and he was a man. We never know what people are thinking and most people fully support breastfeeding. So get out those baps (under the apron of course 😉

The stark truth is no one cares that much apart from you!

This post is part of the Keep Britain Breastfeeding Scavenger hunt. Other bloggers taking part are:
Smiling like sunshine
Simply Hayley The secret life of KateRespectable breast spectacle Pea musings

And companies supporting the event include:
Truly Hooked

Don’t forget to enter to win over £1000 of prizes by going to: a Rafflecopter giveaway

13 thoughts on “National breastfeeding week: feeding in public

  1. Great post! My boys both hated being covered up, so I didn’t bother (I only tried a muslin a few times, never bought a cover). With my first I was much more self conscious, and wouldn’t use our SNS when out, though I didn’t mind wherever to feed him without the SNS. BUt with my second I’ve fed him with the SNS all over the place – I think it’s helpful for people to see it, and I’ve had some amazing conversations with mums at groups as a result and one even told her struggling friend about it and it helped her too. So I think the more mums who feed in public, the better for all of us!

    Probably the funniest place I’ve fed is on a narrow gauge railway train in the Lake District. The funniest moment has probably been all the weird positions that my 2yo manages to get in whilst feeding!

  2. Feeding in public: I have fed in the woods whilst walking the dog, on fair/showgrounds, on a bench in the churchyard, in cafe’s etc. The more comfortable you are about it the easier it becomes!

  3. Ebarassing story? I flashed the postie once, I had just finished feeding my son when the bell went and I answered the door without boob-checking first!

  4. I really found it difficult to feed my first daughter in public due to low confidence and her tongue tie so ended up giving her ebm. I now have a 3 week old baby and am slowly gaining the confidence to feed on public with her as she is a much better feeder. A breast feeding butterfly helped at first too as I felt that I was a bit more covered up. I’m so glad I can feed her while out and about this time.

  5. With my first she would often feed to sleep wherever we were and so I would end up sitting with my boob hanging out as I would forget it was out in my new mum sleep wrecked way.

  6. Totally disagree that people should be encouraged to feed under aprons etc. Breasts are for feeding babies, any cultural issues people have with that are their own problem, and they will never get over it if we pander to their distaste by hiding away like it’s shameful. If you aren’t ready to feed without a cover, that’s up to you. But implying others should use one is a step backwards.

    1. I use one sometimes, other times I don’t. I didn’t use one at all in the 16 months I fed my first son. Sometimes I use no cover. But it’s good to have an option. It’s not necessarily about exposing your breast, some people (depending on what they are wearing) will feel very self conscious exposing their midriff, especially after just having a baby. I personally wouldn’t want to show off my tummy in public, aprons, feeding vest, whatever the option helps with this, especially in the very emotional time with a newborn. It’s down to personal choice. It’s ok not to wear one, its ok to wear one. I’m not saying people should wear one to stop other people feeling uncomfy, I too think others should accept breastfeeding mothers. I’m simply saying if an individual doesn’t want to feel exposed they are a good option, better than giving up for bottles I’d say! Thanks for your comment

  7. when my daughter was about 6 months old I was attending a close family members funeral. She had been really good through the service, sitting with Grandma and Grandad as I did my reading up front, but by the time we were graveside she was definitely hungry…. I knew if anyone was going to be able to hear what was happening I’d have to feed her…..I apologised to the vicar and he said “the needs of the living far outweigh those of the deceased, you carry on”.

  8. I fed my DD in the waiting area of a garage a few days ago whilst waiting for my car to be fixed, 3 mechanics were standing right in front of me behind the counter. i don’t think any of them noticed 🙂

Leave a Reply

