All about the pob · The Hopbine

Our renovation: The pob’s bedroom

It’s time I need to think in more detail and get ordering for the decoration and interior design for our renovation. Before we decided to move we’d planned to move the pob to a new room anyway in prep for the new baby so the little nursery was free for the new arrival. So I’ve transferred my previous plans for his new room.

First on the list is window covering. His window is huge and, delightfully for him, very low to the ground so he can stand and watch all the vehicles. Most importantly for me though it needs to be covered to black it out whilst he sleeps. I need to source a roller blackout blind, I probably will use Dunelm as I have previously. Their blinds are pretty good I’ve found. But the curtains….this I’m excited about. Mum is making them (with blackout lining). I wanted something that wasn’t babyish. That would last a few years. That would be relatively flexible if we wanted to redecorate. I found this print called Destination which is available in red, black, pink, blue and dark blue from KidsFabrics. It is perfect. The prices are really reasonable and they have some really quirky designs that aren’t on the high street. Go have a look! They also do made to measure if you don’t have a curtain maker handy and do other bits like funky bedding too. Mum is making the curtains at the moment, I am so excited to hang them.

20130501-143205.jpg

We will be putting him in a big boy bed when we move in. A proper single. I just want a cream or red bed set, i haven’t found one yet but will be looking for something to match the curtains.

20130508-141702.jpg

The cushions from I’ve found are from Bouf. Bright, colourful and fun. They have some really lovely designs.

The walls will be cream, the woodwork white. His furniture is all solid pine, unvarnished but stained, I don’t have a photo because its all in storage still! I would like to get him some other storage and a little table to sit at in his chair.

I’d like to get him the rug above to go with the other colours from the rug seller  it’s amazing with glow in the dark thread! Whizzing my little boy off to his dreams…it’s just beautiful.

We’ve bought the light fitting from Ikea which brings another primary colour in to the room. It’s lovely and bright and cheerful. The switch will be on a dimmer for snuggly story time and I like the star light to hang on the wall, also from Ikea.

The room would look pretty plain just cream even with the lighting accessories and fab curtains so I’ve had a look and decided to try wall stickers.

20130508-141802.jpg

I like the idea of having the pobs name so we can talk and trace the shapes of the letters in his name.

I also love this smattering of stars around the bed, and was thinking of doing this on the chimney breast too to introduce lots of primary colours for us to talk about.

The great thing about wall stickers is they can be removed and updated as he grows (although I’m pretty sure we’ll need to redecorate in a reasonable time with two kiddies running around!). They also aren’t easy for little fingers to pick off, they’re pretty sturdy in their stickiness!

The other good thing about wall stickers is you can add to the decor with minimal cost or effort. I like this alphabet too to be stuck near his little table and might add some vehicles or animals depending on bed sets and how the room looks with the stickers I’ve already picked. MrSlender is firmly in to planets and space so perhaps some planet wall stickers…

I hope my big little boy likes his new big boy room…

2 thoughts on “Our renovation: The pob’s bedroom

Leave a Reply

