All about the pob

17 months

Well I’m late this month. The pob is 17 months and one week old. Which is my new favourite age.

He is 100% a toddler and most definitely a boy.

He is now obsessed with trains (choo choo), knows where his knees are (and can say knee), doesn’t have milk from me and doesn’t have his da da (dummy). What a big boy. He even has had a grown up hair cut.

20121017-204825.jpg

We went on holiday in September to Portugal. When we were there the pob decided he didn’t want my milk anymore. At 17 months that’s fine with me. He’d already been having cows milk at night but he cut out his morning feed. I’m pleased we both felt happy about it and we did have one lovely last night feed the day after we got there to treasure. Now he’s loving having his bottle (mulk) at night.

Now that was ginormous enough on its own but we have also had to deal with a lot of waking in the night. I think due to bout after bout of tonsillitis. Cue manic use of dummy. In the end, a 100% well pob was still waking and we were shattered. We’d got in a bad routine. Then one morning (last weds) I woke up after approx 30 mins sleep and decided the dummy had to beat it. I wasn’t getting up anymore for no reason. Strange as it sounds I think his dummy was unsettling him more than comforting both day and night. So day 1 Lucy went for no dummy after I tearfully said I could take no more. Brave woman. But he was fine. That night I explained he had his snuggly blanket but was a big boy and didn’t need his dummy. He went to bed, sitting up he nodded and said dada dada (dummy) nodded again, I said no and explained and then left him. He cried for approx 30 secs. Since then he’s slept better every night, we haven’t had to go in once. He has only asked for his dada once at a birthday party when he was exhausted and wanted to go home (he didn’t get it, he had his blanket). I’m not saying its forever but it’s been a week with no dummy whatsoever and he’s happier and cleverer than ever.

He also ate a sandwich! hurrah!

Here are his words:
Fix it (bob the builder)
Juice
More
Purple
Bubble
Ball
Pops
George
Mamma
Daddy
Nanny
Down
Up
Star
Cat
Fish
More
Knee
Car
Boat
Finished
Duck
Chair
Where
There
Snack
Hat
Shoe
Sock
Choo choo

And signs:
Spider
Yummy
Boy
Thank you / please
Mummy
Pops
Say
Horse
Strawberry
Eat/food
Ball
Fish
Mouse
Rain
Ladybird
Bird
Plane
Bear
Butterfly
Lion
Apple
Ball
Worm
Milk
Spoon
Bed
Plate
Drink
Home
See
Sun
Tree
More
Finished
Frog
Cow
Sheep
Moon
Cold
Hot
Yes
No
Car
Plane
Chicken
Monkey
Rain
Rabbit
Train
Shower
Phone
Where

As always I love him more than the world. Love him nodding, helping, cuddling and being my pob

Leave a Reply

